About the Faculty of Science of Eötvös Lorand University

Facts about the Faculty

The Faculty of Science is one of the largest faculties of Eötvös Loránd University. It has 44 departments, organized in eight institutes (see the list below). These are located in two large buildings on the new campus of the University on the scenic banks of the Danube. The number of undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students, who participate of the different programs, is close to 7000. The academic staff is 600 teachers and researchers. The Faculty puts emphasis on international contacts with European universities for cooperation both in teaching and research through the exchange of students and lectures. Therefore the Faculty has joined UNICA, IAU, EAIE, EUROBIO, CEPUS groups and also participates in TEMPUS and ERASMUS programs to ensure mobility in higher education. Many staff members also have informal international contacts through their research activity that contribute to an exchange of M.Sc. and Ph.D. students.

Conditions of studying

Facilities: Numerous modern lecture halls and seminar rooms of the eight institutes and well-equipped laboratories of the department ensure excellent conditions for teaching. (Take a short “Virtual tour on the Faculty” !)

Libraries: There are “The Library of the Faculty of Science” and ten other large collections on the campus of the Faculty of Sciences, which are specialized to different fields of science. Students are free to use these and also the volumes in the other libraries of the University, including the central library of Eötvös Loránd University, as well as the smaller libraries of the different departments.

Photocopying and computer centers with access to the Internet are available for students. Each registered student is entitled to an e-mail account.

Sport facilities: The University has a wide range of sport facilities including swimming pools, various sports grounds, tennis courts and running tracks.

Student organization: The interest of students is represented by the Student Union. Their activists are present in the decision-making bodies at faculty and university level. The Student Union arranges all kinds of cultural, sporting and leisure programs, and also organizes meetings for foreign students. All enrolled students are entitled to participate in these programs and associations. The Union operates a Student Office, which helps for free or reduced-rate obtaining international student card, finding apartment and private tutors, provides maps and thickets to theaters etc. The Foreign Affairs Group of the Union is for the help and arrangement of problems of foreign students.

Student reserach

The vigorous research programs in all of the departments provide unlimited opportunity for students to participate. An “Undergraduate Research Program (TDK)” provides a framework for voluntary student-teacher relationship in extracurricular research activity of students. A local, university forum for the display of the students’ research work is a conference, held annually, while Nation-wide conferences are organized biannually. On both events, students who performed the best are given awards.

The institutes and departments (The departments are listed according to their affiliation to institutes.)

Institute of Biology

Institute of Chemistry

Institute of Geography and Earth Science

  • Astrophysical Laboratory
  • Research Group of Geophysics and Environmental Physics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Centre of Geography

  • Department of Physical Geography
  • Department of Regional Geography
  • Department of Social and Economic Geography
  • Department of Geography Teacher Training
  • External Laboratory of Applied Geography
  • Has-ELTE Research Group for Regional Science

Centre of Geology and Environmental Physics

Institute of Mathematics

  • Research Group of Combinatorial Optimization

Institute of Physics

  • Research Group for Statistical Physics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Research Group of Theoretical Physics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences